Cats and loseing weight....I NEED TO KNOW!

Courtney K-Courtney K- WarrenMember Posts: 5,721
edited 16 October, 2005 in Cat Health
Well, my one-year-old cat, Gremlin is at a whopping 25+ pounds. I'm DESPERATE to know how to get cats to lose weight. He's a cute little bugger and I don't want him dying on me. Got any hints?

Comments

• jen clarkjen clark StrongsvilleMember Posts: 1,099
    edited 27 February, 2006
    HI GREMLIN! I\'m an Ohio kitty too! I never heard of Cortland though. I live close to the Cleveland area! You are a cutie... maybe some [ick, gasp] diet food? Or maybe feeding time could become an activity? Like call him from a different room so he has to walk to get a peice of food, then go to a different room and call him for another peice of food? I don\'t know, I am NO expert, that\'s furrsure! Is he at all active? Does he like to play? Have you tried a laser light, pointer thingy? I just love chasing that thing all around! Just becareful not too get it close to his eyes! Does he have a feeding time or is his food left out all day? Sorry for all the questions! Love, Saffron
  • Stephanie BlaisureStephanie Blaisure BinghamtonMember Posts: 75
    edited 27 February, 2006
    What kind of food does Gremlin eat? Mommy was going to put me on Lite weight managment cat food when my belly started to get a little big. Also, my good friend Alex told me about this, cats eat till they fulfill their protene levels, so if Gremlin is on a food that doesn't have a lot of protene he'll eat and eat till he has had enough protene. If he's on a high protene food then he wont eat as much.
  • Tracy HowellTracy Howell ScottsdaleMember Posts: 529
    edited 27 February, 2006
    A friends vet said not to give her cat kibble...just wet food in the morning and night. Cat lost weight.
  • Toffy_VanessaToffy_Vanessa Member Posts: 4,074 ✭✭
    edited 27 February, 2006