feline leukemia

Beverly HixBeverly Hix Osage CountyMember Posts: 48
edited 29 December, 2008 in Cat Health
My cat has been diagnosed w/feline leukemia and I am just sick about it. My vet tried to comfort me by saying that Lizy can live with it, maybe for several years. Lizy is three and came to me as a feral on a cold spring day trying to eat sunflower seeds from my bird feeder. I would really like to hear some positive stories about others who have cats with this disease.

Comments

• Tangee WilsonTangee Wilson glen burnieMember Posts: 12
    edited 22 December, 2008
    I have no experience with this. I just wanted to express my thoughts and prayers for you and your baby.
  • JANE STUTFIELDJANE STUTFIELD BERKELEYMember Posts: 2,203
    edited 22 December, 2008
    We are so sorry to hear that this beautiful girl has FeLV. She certainly can live a good life for several years. One thing I notice is that you have other cats in the household...is she in contact with them. FeLV is a contagious disease and even if your other cats have been vaccinated against the disease, the vaccine is not 100% effective. Check out this site for a brief description of the disease: http://www.vet.cornell.edu/fhc/brochures/felv.html None of my cats have the disease but the humane society where I volunteer with the cats has taken in several FeLV cats over the years. One, in particular, has lived for at least 2 years past the diagnosis and he is thriving. Diet and vet checkups are extremely important - read as much as you can about the disease and feed the highest quality food you can afford. Vet checks should probably be every 6 months, minimum. She should not be allowed outside to reduce her risk of getting sick or the risk of her infecting other cats. She is a lucky girl to have found you. Enjoy all your time together - we never have enough time with our beloved cats - and she could live a long, wonderful life. We purr for that. Oliver