Matts Matts and more Matts!

Sally WaldronSally Waldron Member Posts: 1,255 ✭✭
edited 25 June, 2010 in Grooming
I am hoping to get some advice on getting matts out. Sonny has such thick beautiful hair but is still at that kitten stage where he won't let me near him with a brush and when I try to cut them out he tries to play with the scissors. Any suggestions?

Comments

• Dawn HarmanDawn Harman SpeedwellMember Posts: 1,079
    edited 19 May, 2010
    I was a Pro groomer for 12 years, and I have found that using a plastic letter opener will help get through any hair knots or mats. This a a pic of what I am talking about; http://www.officeworld.com/Worlds-Biggest-Selection/WEVCOA12 /10Q1/ Just run it through and comb out with a metal comb . This way you will not cut little kitty toes or skin! Good Luck
  • Lynda SmithLynda Smith Member Posts: 25
    edited 19 May, 2010
    Use a greyhound type comb instead of a brush. A brush will not go through a long thick coat - just gets the top layer of fur. The underneath hair will mat and felt. You have to be consistent with combing for the cat to tolerate it. Offer some type of reward so the cat will link it with grooming. Mine all get a treat or some baby food.
  • Sally WaldronSally Waldron Member Posts: 1,255 ✭✭
    edited 20 May, 2010
    Ok thanks I will check out the letter opener and try the treat deal with him. The hardest ones are going to be the ones between his legs. The only good thing if you call it that is that you can't see the matts but when you pet him they are like hard lumps. They don't seem to bother him but they sure bother me! :n:
    edited 20 May, 2010
    I agree with Posiepurrs- Solidago, I was just not sure you would know what a \"greyhound\" comb was. I love mine! Those would be the best thing to comb out any matts with. Chicken baby food alwasy works with me! mol good luck and please let us know how you do.
  • Tanja EdenTanja Eden SacramentoMember Posts: 137
    edited 20 May, 2010