Help with a Baby

Kimberley HareKimberley Hare Member Posts: 1
edited 17 September, 2014 in Kitten Corner
I'm hoping that you guys can help me out. I've never owned a cat before, but last night I found myself the guardian of a tiny female kitten. My best friend had already bought her, but has just found out that she is pregnant and her partner is against her having a kitten at this time. So she asked me if I would take her. Of course I said yes, but at this point I thought she would be a little older, maybe 10 to 12 weeks as I have heard that is when they are ready to leave their mums. Last night I picked her up from my friend, and found out that she is only 6 weeks old. And it being that I have no experience with cats as pets, let alone a kitten, I was hoping you could help me a little. I'm rather clueless as to what shots she will need, as I've read that she will have been too young for the breeder to have had them done, or how to keep her occupied while I'm out at work, and if being away from her mum and siblings will affect her socially in any way and how to combat that. I have no idea who the breeder is myself, and he is no longer answering my friend's calls. I don't want to give Kuro Chan away though, I'm a firm believer in a pet being for life as part of the family, and I love her to bits already. So any advice you can give me in order to make her as happy as I can would be greatly appreciated. :)

Comments

• Paula K-Paula K- New YorkMember Posts: 2,244
    edited 15 September, 2014