8 month year old kitten escaped from back yard

Joey ChineryJoey Chinery Member Posts: 2
edited 3 February, 2015 in Kitten Corner
Hey guys I'm a newbie here, Hi! I live my littlw boy so much. He's so sociable. Until yesterday he was an indoors only kitty. With the exception of being let out into our back yard which has 7 foot high walls. I was happy that he had the best of both worlds in a way : the safety of indoors but the fresh air, ability to chase bugs, watch birds, climb onto the kitchen roof etc of outdoors. But last night the little tinker escaped and my hubby and I ended up walking around in the dark at 3am shaking a bag of treats!! He's done the same today. He's obviously desperate to explore. I no longer feel right trying to prevent that. So it goes without saying that I'm nervous as hell. We live on a main road, close to the city cwntre. Although thw road is only busy at certain times of day. So my Q is, is there anything I can do to improve his likelihood of staying safe???? He is microchipped, wears a safety collar, has a tag with our details on, a bell, he is fully vacinated, fleaed/wormed and neutered. Is there anything I have missed? Do you have any advice for a worried kitty momma?

Comments

• Arlye DruryArlye Drury DartmouthMember Posts: 826
    edited 1 February, 2015
    Hi and welcome to catster! The only way to keep him completely safe would be to keep him indoors! Maybe you can build him an outdoor enclosure - something with a roof that will keep him IN since seven foot walls aren't doing it! Since you live on a busy street I would be very concerned about him getting hit by a vehicle. Good luck! Claude Hoppurrs mumma
  • Joey ChineryJoey Chinery Member Posts: 2
    edited 2 February, 2015