Not sure what to do with my kitten...

Stacia BennettStacia Bennett Athens, GAMember Posts: 1,011
edited 28 August, 2010 in Cats & Travel
I am a college student, and I visit my parents about once a month. It is a 4 hour drive, and my parents are divorced, so I stay at a different house each night that I am gone. Maddox is about 10-12 weeks old, and I have had him for about 4 weeks now. I am going home for the first time this weekend and I am not sure what I should do with him. Option 1 is to take him with me, but I feel like that will stress him out way too much. If I took him, he would stay at my moms house (dad is allergic) and she has 2 young kids and a dog that live there too. Option 2 is to board him, which I also think would stress him out way too much. Also, since he is so young, he is not fully vaccinated yet. Option 3 is to leave him at my apartment. My roommate will be home this weekend, but I hate to ask her to take care of him. She will, though, if I want to. This seems like the ideal situation right now, but the problem is that starting next month, I will not have the option to leave him with her because she is moving out, so at that point he will either have to go with me or have to be boarded. What do you guys think I should do? Leave him and let him get a little older before I try to take him? Or go ahead and take him with me to start getting him used to it?

Comments

• Faye DufourFaye Dufour Destrehan, LA/New Orleans areaMember Posts: 4,648
    edited 15 July, 2010