Waiting to Spay???

I have two kittens about 6 months old that my boyfriend and I rescued when they were first born... We know we have to get them spayed at some point, but I'm a full time college student and my boyfriend and I have our own house and money is really tight. Dropping 400$ on getting them both fixed is not in my budget... They're both indoor cats, and we're not letting them out becuase there are boy cats wondering around (we live on a farm) and we dont want to deal with ___ number of kittens one day.. How long can I go without getting them fixed? If i put it off will i be sorry for it in the long run or will it not be a problem? I dont know much about girl cats in heat!! Any suggestions?

Best Answers

• Accepted Answer
    I suggest a low-cost spay and neuter clinic ( female cats are spayed, male cats are neutered ), you can usually find one in your local phone book- some vet clinics also offer payment plans for those who can't afford to pay up front. Ask your veterinarian if you can set up a payment plan to have both of your kittens neutered. The problems is, your kittens are reaching adulthood, and both being tomcats, they will most likely start to fight with one another due to territorial issues. They will also probably start to mark their territory inside your house by spraying urine on your furniture, walls, carpet, etc. And goodess knows what would happen if they even caught the scent of a female in heat! They would go insane! Yowling, scratching the furniture, scratching you- all to try to get to the female in heat. I would suggest you get them neutered ASAP before behavior problems become and issue, and before more unwanted shelter kittens are born. Best wishes and good luck!
  • Leanne FroebelLeanne Froebel Member Posts: 1,730
    Accepted Answer