My cat Stinky is all black. He turned 8 years old on January 16th, 2009 - and he doesn't listen. Thi

Shania NavarroShania Navarro Show Low, AZMember Posts: 2,731
My cat Stinky is all black. He turned 8 years old on January 16th, 2009 - and he doesn't listen. This may mean he may be deaf -- but then on the other hand he may just be stubborn. When I pet his head, he winces away and runs and lowers his ears down. I'm not too experienced with disabilities in cats or other animals..so what does this mean..does deafness affect and hurt??

Best Answers

• Sandy NenningerSandy Nenninger PlainvilleMember Posts: 1,975
    Accepted Answer
    Deafness does not hurt. He may have a chronic ear infection or ear mites if he winces in pain when you pet his ears. I would have a vet check that out. Most cats do not listen unless they choose to. Mine all hear fine and come running for the treat can if I shake it but they only come when called if it is convenient for them at that moment and they are not too busy napping. (except for Chelsea, for some reason, she comes no matter who i am calling) To test if Stinky is deaf, just try making an unexpected noise when he is not looking. Tap a spoon on a ceramic tile floor or even shake the treat can and see if he responds.
  • Joy WaltersJoy Walters Member Posts: 9,276
    Accepted Answer