Help, please - new to life with cats!

Cole LavinCole Lavin Member Posts: 119
edited 21 December, 2008 in Plus Friendly
Hello, All- I am new to cats and catster and I need a little help. We adopted a kitten that we named Agatha at the beginning of September. We have three dogs and all goes fairly well. (Agatha is best friends with two of our dogs. We are working on the third. She's not yet convinced.) At any rate, we recently took in a stray cat as we couldn't bear to leave him on the side of the road in the terrible New England weather. (Check out his page for the full story) We've been to our vet twice- once for an initial check up and another time to treat Johnny No Home's case of tapeworm. We will be headed back to the vet in a few weeks to have him neutered and to have his injury checked out again. I know a good deal about dogs as I have done a lot of research on them. That being said, I am now starting to learn about cats also. Could the catster community please help me with a few things? 1. Johnny No Home's injury runs the length of his tail. It is covered with open wounds in places- that he continues to lick incessently. I have tried an e-collar but he is not having it. He is currently on antibiotics and is taking them well...any suggestions on how to get him to stop licking his wounds? He is keeping them open and therefore they aren't healing. 2. Johnny No Home is shedding like crazy and has really dry skin that is flaking off like dandruff. Is it safe to give him fish oil? I am assuming so, but I'm not going to give it to him until I am positive. Or flaxseed oil? Thank you so much in advance for your help. We've taken this sweet guy in off the streets and we are committed to giving him the healthiest, fullest, best life possible. It would be wonderful if you could help us to help him get there! Hope I haven't rambled too much. Thanks! Nicole and Johnny No Home ;)

Comments

• Teresa ConcannonTeresa Concannon Member Posts: 7,378
    edited 17 December, 2008